Van Morrison Announces New Album Plus Tour Dates

Van Morrison’s new album Roll with the Punches will be released September 22nd that will also be accompanied by a US/UK tour.  The singer’s 37th studio album is a mix of blues and soul covers combined with 5 new and original songs.  The album is a follow up to the success of his last album, Keep Me Singing, which reached the Top 10 in both the U.S and the U.K.  

“The thing about the blues is you don’t dissect it – you just do it,” Van Morrison said. “I was lucky to have met people who were the real thing, people like John Lee Hooker, Jimmy Witherspoon, Bo Diddley, Little Walter and Mose Allison. I got to hang out with them and absorb what they did. They were people with no ego whatsoever and they helped me learn a lot.”

Morrison’s tour begins in Hershey, PA at the Outlaw Music Festival on September 10th, followed up by dates in Tennessee and California before heading over to play in Scotland, the U.K., Wales, and Northern Ireland.

-Mark Goodwin, Music Correspondent

Roll With the Punches Track List

  1. “Roll With the Punches” (Van Morrison & Don Black)
  2. “Transformation” (Van Morrison)
  3. “I Can Tell” (Bo Diddley & Samuel Bernard Smith)
  4. “Stormy Monday / Lonely Avenue” (T-Bone Walker / Doc Pomus)
  5. “Goin’ To Chicago” (Count Basie & Jimmy Rushing)
  6. “Fame” (Van Morrison)
  7. “Too Much Trouble” (Van Morrison)
  8. “Bring It on Home to Me” (Sam Cooke)
  9. “Ordinary People” (Van Morrison)
  10. “How Far From God” (Sister Rosetta Tharpe)
  11. “Teardrops From My Eyes” (Rudy Toombs)
  12. “Automobile Blues” (Lightnin’ Hopkins)
  13. “Benediction” (Mose Allison)
  14. “Mean Old World” (Little Walter)
  15. “Ride On Josephine” (Bo Diddley)