Album Anniversary – Madonna by Madonna


Album Anniversary


Album: Madonna

Artist: Madonna

Release Date: July 27, 1983


This week we are celebrating the 34th anniversary of the album Madonna by Madonna.  The debut album was produced by Sire Records who signed Madonna after the success of her song ‘Everybody’.  Madonna, who got her start by playing various clubs around New York City, would end up in the top five best-selling music artists of all time.  


Madonna’s debut album was filled with new and innovative musical technologies, such as the introduction of the  Linn drum machine, Moog bass and Oberheim OB-X synthesizer.  This album would help Madonna revolutionize the music world and help make dance music mainstream.  According to Vice magazine, “This album drew the blueprint for future dance-pop.”  The album coincided with The Virgin Tour which consisted of 35 shows in 28 different cities.  The Virgin Tour ended up grossing over $5 million in ticket sales and would certify Madonna’s status as a cultural icon.  


Track Listing

  1. Lucky Star
  2. Borderline
  3. Burning Up
  4. I Know It
  5. Holiday
  6. Think of Me
  7. Physical Attraction
  8. Everybody


-Mark Goodwin, Music Correspondent